Uncategorized

Cybernetics: the modern revolution

Interesting robotic arm see through like a new iPhone.

Then, now, and tomorrow

In the late 1990s an English scientist and engineer named Kevin Warwick designed and installed a microchip in his arm. This chip allowed him to control small machines that he designed to respond to his microchip. He improved the chip to also give feedback. He built a baseball cap with a radar array on it and gave himself an artificial sense.  As I was on my walk today I was thinking about the smartphone I had in my pocket. I use this phone to listen to music on my walk, to study things via the internet while I’m at a restaurant, and to look up funny pictures when I am bored. Now imagine a melding of these two technologies. A smartphone that communicates directly with your nervous system. 

In 2006 Matthew Nagle, a paralyzed man, was able to operate a computer mouse using an implanted machine in his brain.  This…

View original post 438 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

